Catalunya test: Quartararo stands up to Bagnaia

Catalunya test: Quartararo stands up to Bagnaia

The Niçois, winner the day before, left with the honors, within four thousandths.

The MotoGP™ riders met this Monday at the Barcelona-Catalunya circuit to take part in a post-GP test: a day, the objective of which was to prepare for the second part of the season, in which unfortunately Alex did not participate. Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) and Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu); one having a broken left wrist following their collision the day before and the other having spent the night under observation at the General Hospital of Catalonia. Same thing for Jorge Martín (Prima Pramac Racing), freshly operated on.

Others, on the contrary, will have fully benefited from it, like Alex Márquez (LCR Honda Castrol), who will have covered no less than 96 laps: by far the most assiduous on the track! To tell the truth, the n°73 had a classic chassis and the one usually used by his teammate. Pol Espargaró (Repsol Honda Team) had a new one, with additional carbon inserts. And Stefan Bradl was riding an even different version, similar to the one Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) had in Italy.

In the KTM box, three motorcycles had been made available to Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), one of which had a new chassis.

At Ducati, Johann Zarco (Prima Pramac Racing) and Michele Pirro (Ducati Test Team) were also entitled to a new one: an evolution of what Jack Miller (Ducati Lenovo Team) had the opportunity to test at the end of 2021. Italian had on top of that the 2021 swingarm mounted on his Desmosedici. During this time, Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team), who will have indulged in several start trials, and Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) benefited from a new front fairing. Jack Miller was focused on the front ride height device and the holeshot device.

For his part, Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar), Suzuki’s only representative on the track, had received two new aerodynamic configurations… and a visit from convalescent Alex Rins, who had come to support him.

Aprilia, on the other hand, had a much busier program, insofar as its pilots introduced a new aerodynamic package, in addition to this famous wing seen last week at Mugello, which was making a comeback on the RS-GP of Aleix Espargaró ( Aprilia Racing)… At the same time, Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing) also had the opportunity to experiment with a slightly different chassis.

In the Yamaha clan, Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP™), winner a day earlier, was busy making swingarm comparisons. The recent aluminum model was also offered to Andrea Dovizioso (WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP™ Team); while Franco Morbidelli (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP™) rode while waiting with the carbon one.

Quartararo, Bagnaia and Zarco in a pocket square

In terms of lap times, in the end nobody managed to beat the 1’39.447 lap set that morning by Fabio Quartararo. Francesco Bagnaia however reduced the gap significantly, as evidenced by these four thousandths which separated him from El Diablo. And the first three were held in barely 53 thousandths, with the performance of Johann Zarco!

Aleix Espargaró and Pol Espargaró were respectively pushed back to fourth and fifth rows. Jack Miller retained his sixth place. Behind no change: Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing) finished seventh today. Franco Morbidelli, Enea Bastianini and Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) completed the final Top 10. The first RC16, that of Brad Binder signed the 11e time. In its wake was Joan Mir’s GSX-RR.

Note that the day will have been marked by the falls of Aleix Espargaró, Miguel Oliveira, Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Franco Morbidelli. Which fell respectively in turns 2, 9 and 5.

The drivers now have a few days to rest upstream of the Sachsenring.

The Top 10 of the day
1. Fabio Quartararo
(Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP™) – 1’39.447
2. Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) + 0.004
3. Johann Zarco
(Prima Pramac Racing) + 0.053
4. Aleix Espargaro
(Aprilia Racing) + 0.111
5. Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda Team) + 0.241
6. Jack Miller
(Ducati Lenovo Team) + 0.295
7. Maverick Vinales
(Aprilia Racing) + 0.333
8. Franco Morbidelli
(Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP™) + 0.348
9. Enea Bastianini
(Gresini Racing MotoGP™) + 0.397
10. Fabio Di Giannantonio
(Gresini Racing MotoGP™) + 0.516

Click here to access the results.

Watch the races Live or OnDemand, and enjoy with the VideoPassall content, whether it’s interviews, technical topics… or historic events.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.